Truffle Boy: My Unexpected Journey Through the Exotic Food Underground
4/5
20 votes, ratings by Amazon
3.5/5
2 votes, ratings by Google
3.75/5
232 votes, ratings by Goodreads
Author(s): Ian Purkayastha, Kevin West,
ISBN-10: 0316383953
ISBN-13: 9780316383950
Published: 2016-08-23
Publisher: Hachette Books
Pages: 304
Biographies & Memoirs

In the vein of Blood, Bones & Butter and Kitchen Confidential, the unexpected, thoroughly engaging journey of a young misfit who, as a purveyor of truffles and other highly-desired specialty foods, built a devoted clientele of New York’s chicest chefs and restaurateurs. A self-described oddball kid from Arkansas, Ian Purkayastha found his true calling when at age 15 he learned to forage mushrooms and tasted his first truffle. An instant passion for the delicacy sparked an improbable yet remarkable journey to New York to become the leading truffle importer in America in the dynamic and sometimes shady world of the exotic food trade. Today, at age 22, Ian has built a multi-million dollar specialty foods company with clients as renowned as Jean-Georges Vongerichten and David Chang. As “farm-to-table” becomes “forest-to-table,” Truffle Boy provides a unique view into the world of luxury sourcing, while delivering a coming of age story that will charm foodies and business readers alike.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *